Granola for breakfast (lunch or dinner!)

 

I love to have granola with fresh berries and natural yogurt as snack or a bigger portion for my breakfast. Granola is packed full of energy from all the oats and nuts that are packed into it. I used to buy granola in the supermarket but I learned how much sugar was in it and it totally put me off! I decided that I was going to experiment and make my own, I wanted all the taste and less of the added sugar. The only thing that I use to sweeten mine is either honey, maple syrup, and a few raisins or dried cranberries.

I get my mason jars in IKEA, they come in all different shapes and sizes. TK Maxx is also a great place to pick them up. You can also use them to store whey protein, oats and rice etc. I have made jars of this for friends as a gift too and they really appreciate it (shout out to you Laurie LooLoo!!!). Here is my recipe for fruit granola that makes a mason jar full that stays fresh as a daisy for up to a month. I will also pop in a recipe for an Apple Granola, this goes lovely with a low-fat toffee yogurt as a real treat when you are feeling peckish. This is so easy to bring to work in Tupperware, just be sure to pack it separately to the yogurt and berries or it will get soggy and you will lose all the crunch which is the fun part of granola!!!

Makes a 750g mason jar of granola.

What you’ll need:

  • 3 cups of oats (I use jumbo oats)
  • 2/3 cup of mixed nuts (hazelnuts and walnuts work well here)
  • ½ cup of Desiccated Coconut
  • 1 Tbsp. of Cinnamon
  • A Pinch of Salt
  • 2 Tbsp. of Coconut Oil
  • 3 tbsp. Maple Syrup / Honey (or a mix of both)
  • ½ cup of mixed berries (Raisins, Goji Berries and Cranberries etc.)

Method:

In a large mixing bowl add the Oats, Nuts, Coconut, Cinnamon and Salt. Meanwhile in a saucepan melt the coconut oil, maple syrup/honey. Once everything has heated up in the saucepan pour it over the mixture in the bowl.  Place on a baking tray lined with parchment paper and roast in the oven for 30 minutes. Turn the mixture a few times throughout. When the mixture is nice and browned. allow to cool and then add in the mixed berries and store in a mason jar (as I said before it stays good for a month).

Add it to natural yogurt and berries for a delicious snack or breakfast.

granola-bowlgranola-jar

You can also make a delicious snack bowl: Add natural yogurt, fresh strawberries, chocolate chips and dollops of peanut butter and shower it with fresh granola, such a quick and tasty treat. See below:

snack-bowl

To make the Apple Granola, using the same recipe and method as above, simply chop up a crisp apple into small pieces and add 2 Tbsp. of cinnamon, and a few more walnut really complement the apple.

Fairymojo*
X

 

 

2 thoughts on “Granola for breakfast (lunch or dinner!)

Leave a Reply

