Easy Peasy Peanut Squeezy Chocolate Chip Energy Balls (So Catchy….*)

On Saturday evening I was making chocolate cupcakes to bring to relatives we were visiting the next day …I made my typical baker’s dozen and loaded my lucky no.13 with all the left over icing, after I made these sugary chocolate loaded creations I thought I better balance the universe and make healthy energy balls for the week ahead. In fairness, I didn’t actually eat any of the cupcakes (on Sunday)!!!

I brought a few of these in to work today and the reaction was pretty good so I thought I would share the recipe with you. These are the only energy balls I make at the moment that do not contain dates and they are so easy to make, no bake.

This recipe makes about 14 balls, they last in an airtight container in the fridge for up to a week (if they last that long at all)…

What you’ll need:

1 cup of oats

1 heaped Tbsp. Chia seeds

1/2 cup meridian peanut butter

1/2 Tsp. Salt (to compensate for the fact there is no salt in the peanut butter)

1/4 cup desiccated coconut (toasted on a pan with no oil on a medium heat)

2 Tbsp. of melted coconut oil

1/4 cup of honey

1 Tsp. vanilla extract

1/3 Cup of dark chocolate chips

Method:

I had the large mixing attachment on my K-Mix. Add the oats, desiccated coconut, chia seeds, salt and peanut butter and set the mixer on a medium speed. Then, add in the honey, coconut oil (melted in the microwave for about 20 seconds), vanilla extract and mix again. For the last mix add in the chocolate chips until you get a roughly mixed batter. Divide the mixture in about 14 balls and roll. I put them straight into Tupperware and kept them in the fridge.

20170207_214102.png

If you don’t have a mixer, you can easily do these with a wooden spoon and determination.

They are such a a handy snack for bring to work, to have in the morning, before the gym, before/during a shower or bed, whatever!

Enjoy

Fairymojo*

X

 

 

Leave a Reply

